My Tea Cup Cake

I was feeling a little peckish this afternoon and fancied some cake.  Being a Coeliac means that I can rarely, if ever, find a nice cake in the shops that doesn’t taste like condensed powder or cardboard.  If I do find one that tastes reasonably nice, it tends to cost a fine amount to purchase.

I decided to have a go at making a ‘microwave cup cake’.  I bundled together some ingredients :

Image

2 1/2 tablespoons of Rice flour, 1 tablespoon of Potato flour and 1/2 a tablespoon of Tapioca flour

OR 4 tablespoons of Self Raising Flour (Gluten Free for me)

2 tablespoons of Vanilla castor sugar

2 tablespoons of Cocoa powder

Pinch of salt

About 60 grams of unsalted butter

and enough milk to mix to a thick batter.

My measurements are always approximate and I always just throw everything in and mix it together.  This generally works fine for me, but if you are having a go and want to be less haphazard about it, follow your normal cake making guidelines, (cream butter and sugar together, add dry ingredients, add milk).

So, after popping everything in the bowl and giving it a mix, I had a lovely thick batter, a bit like pancake batter.  I poured this into my ‘cup’ and placed it in the microwave for a minute and ten seconds.

Ta dah!

ImageImage

Very yummy, if not a little sickly.  The Tea Cup Cake was a nice consistency, but was a little stodgy, and had a lovely centre of molten chocolate oozing out.  I think that next time I should add some baking powder and it will be perfect!

I now feel thoroughly stuffed and am happily watching my husband clean the kitchen!

Leave a Reply

