My addiction!

I have to admit that if you had asked me a year ago if i was interested in jewellery, I would most likely have replied, ‘It’s okay.’  Ask me now, and the answer is very different.

I started making jewellery around 8 months ago, it was a new craft for me to try and I had dabbled before making a rosary for my mum.  Something strange happened and I became addicted.

I adore all aspects of jewellery making, from basic beading all the way up to intricate wire work and chain maille! I can sit for hours just looking at gemstones and admiring their beauty! Here are a few of my more treasured items that I have made.

 

Image

Granted, the picture is not very good, but I hope you can see the beauty of this set. Egyptian inspired, I used Lapis Lazuli and gold plated copper wire to make the necklace, earrings and bracelet.  It is a most luxurious piece but combines my love of Egyptian history and Lapis Lazuli, a stone rumoured to have been crushed up and used as eye shadow by Cleopatra!

 

Image

Here I have worked in 925 Sterling Silver wire, accented with Swarovski and fresh water pearls.  I loved working on this piece, for my mum’s friends wedding.  An arm cuff, earrings and little hair twists.

 

Image

My brother-in-laws girlfriend ended up with this ring.  Gold plated with a black Agate gemstone, it was a little too extravagant for me.  One of the first rings that I made.

Image

 

I adore this bracelet.  This is Chain Maille, if you are not familiar with it, just think about Medieval soldiers and their armour, using the same techniques it is possible to make some amazing jewellery.  Very time consuming and extremely hard on your hands, the results far out weigh the difficulties.  This Box Chain weave is made in gold plated copper and is accented with Swarovski crystal.  I made all of the individual jump rings and the toggle clasp also for this piece.

Image

 

Finally, for today I would like to share one of my favourite pieces I have made.  In copper wire, which resembles Rose Gold, this is a very basic chain maille weave which incorporates genuine gemstones.  Here I have used Lavender Amethyst and Fluorite rectangles, with Serpentine on the toggle clasp.

 

So, there you have it.  A few pieces I have made.  I would love to know what you think of my pieces.  I still have a lot to learn but I am really pleased with how my jewellery is turning out!

Thanks for stopping by! 

 

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. char
    Aug 23, 2013 @ 08:53:50

    WOW. So many pretty pieces – do you make just for you and your family? Did you take classes or teach yourself? So many questions! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Erika
    Aug 23, 2013 @ 10:21:36

    Thank you so much!! I do just make for me, family & friends. I taught myself, books, internet etc. Ask away, I’m happy to answer them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

