Radio Restoration

I wanted to share one of my favourite items with you.

Hobbling around a boot sale one Sunday, I was feeling rather disheartened that there seemed to be nothing of interest to buy.  I love a good bargain as much as the next person, but there just didn’t seem to be anything there.  We were just about to make our way back to the car when from across the other side of the car park something caught my eye.

I said to my husband, ‘Oh look, is that what I think it is?’  A blank expression met my excited one and I decided to go and investigate myself.  To my absolute joy I discovered the most beautiful 1930’s style (I am not sure if the housing is original to the period) radio.  I adore vintage and this just screamed at me!

Thinking to myself, ‘be brave and haggle’, I asked the fellow behind the pasting table how much this little beauty was.  I half expected £20, £30, even though it was a little battered.  He replied ‘It don’t work and someone converted it to battery power, you need batteries for it to work.’  Whilst thinking, this guy obviously believes me to be a little stupid, I wasn’t all that bothered about the insides as I had an immediate idea on how to remedy the problem.  ‘You still want it love?’

‘How much is please?’

‘£2.’  Now, whilst I had repeated my mantra of ‘Be brave and haggle,’ I was nobodies fool and £2 was a hell of a deal.  So I bought this gorgeous piece of (hopefully) history and scarpered quick, convinced the man had made a mistake and sold it to me too cheap!

Image

Image

I was so ecstatic with my find, I must have been a gibbering fool by the time we got home!  I found myself however, quite astounded by what I found inside my prize find.

Image

Someone had ripped out the original radio, speaker and speaker covering in favour of this horrific little set up.  This was no good to me, even if it worked.  So, I set about, with my little helper, to remove the innards and start my restoration/upcycling project.

Image

I took everything out.  Replaced the speaker covering with some beautiful floral fabric in a very dark muted green and cream, which complimented the wood beautifully.  With the guts removed I placed some free standing computer speakers and poked the lead through a gap in the back board.  My radio was upgraded to a modern speaker for an MP3 player or my iPhone, without ruining the look of the housing.

I then cleaned and polished the wood and put the radio pride of place in the front room next to my home made docking station.

ImageImage

The wood just looks so beautiful and the radio is just perfect for my front room and for me!  I am not kidding when I tell you that I find myself staring at it sometimes, just admiring it’s clean lines and fantastic character.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. char
    Aug 23, 2013 @ 08:49:01

    How frustrating that the radio was missing, but I think it looks great now and is still super practical.

    Reply

  2. Erika
    Aug 23, 2013 @ 10:17:35

    It was a shame, but I am pleased with my find. Glad you like it and thanks for taking the time to have a look!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

