Beauty Box Subscriptions

I have been reading a lot about these beauty box subscriptions and figured I should give them a go, it would be rude not to, right?  So, I picked the two that appeared to be the most interesting and grabbed my attention above the others.

I chose Birchbox and Glossybox.

Birchbox

I signed up to a rolling subscription with Birchbox for £10 per month plus £2.95 postage.  The box arrived inside a week, but as this was my first order and the end of the month, I am not assuming this is the norm.  The box I received was the August Instyle box.

DSCF2219 DSCF2220

Inside the delivery box there was a magazine from Birchbox/Instyle filled with tips, tricks, fashion news, reviews and information regarding the products in the box.  The box it self is a very sturdy and classy plain brown box, with minimal detailing.  Lifting the lid, I was greeted with a drawstring bag, cream with Birchbox printed in minty green letters and a few cards welcoming me to Birchbox and providing other information.

In each of the boxes there is a selection of 4-5 products from the range on offer that month.  To see what could have arrived in my August box just click here.

DSCF2221

My box had seven items.

  • Bichbox Gel Mask – pop in the fridge to refresh tired eyes.
  • Ylang Ylang Body Wash
  • LAQA & Co’s Fat Lip Pencil in Ring of Fire – Such an amazing red!
  • Gerda Spillman’s Hydro Pearls Make-Up Primer
  • Phillip Kingsley Elasticizer – A pre-shampoo treatment for hair
  • Skinlife Energetic Cellular Cream
  • Beautify Me Vitamin Complex – one months supply

I was and am extremely impressed with this box.  Not only is there a great range of product samples from new brands, there are a couple from familiar ones too.  Also the lip pencil is full sized and obviously the mask has infinite uses.  The products all seem to be high quality and cover a wide range of beauty applications.

You earn points on the website, much like a loyalty scheme.  For every £1 you spend you receive a point.  If you complete a survey to give feedback on a product, you will receive 5 points.  After one order and the surveys relating to that order I already have 52 points.  Every 100 points can be redeemed for £10 on the website, (you can buy full sized products featured in the boxes).  So, after two months I should have enough to buy an item.  The points last for a year and can be saved up!

All in all a big thumbs up from me.  I can’t wait for Septembers box to arrive now! Come on, it’s the 2nd already!! 😉

Glossybox

With Glossybox I noticed that they had an offer on.  Same postage as Birchbox, but they had two ‘back issue’ boxes for April and July of this year on sale for £12!  I thought this would be a great start with them, try two boxes and if I like them, sign up for a subscription.

The first of the boxes I received is the Pearl Lowe April.

DSCF2223

First impressions with this was along the lines of ‘Wow, this box is beautiful! Oh look at this, so pretty…’  this went on for a while until my husband said, ‘Are you going to open it’.  The box is really nice!

DSCF2224

Lifting off the lid I was presented with black tissue paper tied neatly with a white ribbon.  Underneath that was my goodies.

DSCF2226

Along with a gorgeous leaflet, that opens out into a small poster, I also received:

  • Etre Belle Collagen and Aloe Vera Hydro Mask
  • Yves Rocher Nutritive Vegetal 24h Comfort Nourishing Cream
  • Richard Ward Couture Hair Optimiser style Reviver
  • Nip + Fab Dry Skin Fix body butter in Mango
  • Sunsense Daily Face SPF

It appears that Glossybox work slightly differently and everyone gets the same items in their boxes.  Although the amount is a couple less than Birchbox, the products have good sizes, especially the body butter, meaning they will give more than one or two uses.  Again there is a nice span of beauty products, for different uses and body parts.  For me the packaging (I know, the least important part) was the most surprising.  This box can be used as a keepsake box or storage of some kind, it is far too pretty to throw out!

The second of my Glossyboxes is the July edition.

DSCF2227

 

This was a very cheery box to open.  Bright and bold, it felt really summery and exciting!  (If you haven’t realised by now, I like packaging, not sure why, just do).

DSCF2228

 

Lovely orange and white tissue paper, delicately tied with a blue bow, hid my surprises!

DSCF2229

 

Again, I got an informative, open out leaflet which provided information about the products and a special offer on the back page.

This box seemed just as good as the last, if not better.  Inside I got

  • Inecto Pure Coconut – Full size
  • Alterna haircare Bamboo Style Boho Waves Tousled Texture Mist
  • Coola Organic Mineral Face SPF 20 Unscented
  • Ila Spa Face Oil
  • Ciate London Paint Pot

The main points with this box are the two products included that are full size, infact I would suggest the ‘Paint Pot’ is larger than your average nail polish.

Another wide ranging collection from various brands.

Glossybox also has a rewards system, they call GlossyDots.  You can earn Dots by completing the survey’s after receiving your boxes, for each one you will gain 50 Dots.  A further 200 can be obtained by ‘inviting’ a friend.  (So if anyone wants an invite, just let me know!).  Every 1000 GlossyDots can be redeemed against a free box!

 

Looking at all three boxes, it is clear to me that both companies have their plus points and are both incredibly good value for money.  If you think about the amount of products that you buy, try and then never use, this is a great money saver in the long run.  Granted you don’t get to pick your products, but that is half of the fun!  A surprise every month, in beautifully packaged boxes.  Both subscriptions can be stopped at any time, so you are not tied into contracts.  I will let you into a secret, I was so impressed with both I signed up to Glossybox also for a month to month subscription, having promised myself I would commit to one.

I do hope this post has helped you to discover the benefits of beauty boxes.  I would love to hear of ones you subscribe to or opinions on them in general and obviously what you thought of my post!

Have a wonderful day and thank you for reading!

 

Image

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Must Have Boxes
    Sep 03, 2013 @ 05:44:36

    That Birchbox is fab! I love that red lip color. I just posted the review of my August Birchbox too. I love the Mally navy blue eyeliner.

    – KW
    http://musthaveboxes.com

    Reply

    • Erika
      Sep 15, 2013 @ 14:29:18

      Thank you so much for your comment!

      I didn’t get the navy eye liner this time. Will definitely have a look at your review to see what I am missing!

      The red lipstick is really nice to wear and the colour can be built up on.

      Thanks again and have a fabulous weekend!

      Reply

  2. lipstickedcollar
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 00:12:40

    Hey there, I love reading your posts, they brighten my day, and expand my wardrobe and makeup bag to say the least, so I have nominated you for a Leibster award, click onto my post for rules, and good luck, you deserve it 🙂 x

    Reply

  3. Erika
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 06:32:03

    Hello!
    Wow, I actually think I am speechless!

    Thank you so much for your amazing comments, it’s fantastic to know that someone is enjoying my posts and finding them useful.

    Also, I’m astounded you felt I deserved an award, I can’t thank you enough for nominating me, such a lovely thing to do!

    Thank you again and have a fantastic day!!

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Leibster Award!! | Eclectic Enchantments
  5. Trackback: The Make Over – The Hair & Make Up (oh and some nails) | Eclectic Enchantments
  6. http://digg.com/news/offbeat/hultquist_jewellery_lizzielane_co_uk
    Sep 10, 2013 @ 05:30:45

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I truly appreciate your efforts and
    I will be waiting for your further write ups thank you once again.

    Reply

    • Erika
      Sep 15, 2013 @ 14:22:30

      Thank you for your comment. I really appreciate you taking the time to read my posts. I hope to post another review this month,
      Thank you again.

      Reply

  7. gel manicure videos
    Sep 10, 2013 @ 09:26:50

    Do you have a spam issue oon this website; I alo am a blogger, aand I
    was curious about your situation; many oof us have developed some nice methods andd we are looking to swap msthods with other folks, be sure to shoot
    me an email if interested.

    Reply

    • Erika
      Sep 15, 2013 @ 14:23:29

      Hi there!
      I haven’t noticed one as yet, but I haven’t been blogging for long. I will let you know if I do though!
      Hope you manage to reduce the spam!
      Thanks for taking the time to read my posts!

      Reply

  8. enhance your style
    Sep 13, 2013 @ 04:49:48

    I am actually happy to glance at this web site posts which contains lots of helpful data, thanks
    for providing these kinds of statistics.

    Reply

    • Erika
      Sep 15, 2013 @ 14:24:36

      Thank you so much for your kind comment! I am pleased to hear that my review has been of some help!
      Thank you for taking the time to read my post!

      Reply

  9. trampoline reviews
    Sep 13, 2013 @ 22:27:44

    It’s nearly impossible to find knowledgeable people for this topic, however, you seem like you know what you’re talking about!
    Thanks

    Reply

    • Erika
      Sep 15, 2013 @ 14:26:00

      Hi, thank you for your comment and taking the time to have a read of my blog.
      I am sure there are people much more knowledgeable about these things that I, but I really appreciate your vote of confidence! I am passionate about the things I write about and about being honest.
      Thanks again and have a fabulous day!

      Reply

  10. Pilgrim Jewellery
    Sep 17, 2013 @ 19:18:43

    What i do not understood is in fact how you’re now not actually much more neatly-appreciated than you may be
    right now. You’re very intelligent. You realize therefore considerably on the
    subject of this matter, made me in my view believe it from numerous numerous angles.

    Its like men and women don’t seem to be interested unless it’s one
    thing to do with Lady gaga! Your own stuffs outstanding.

    All the time maintain it up!

    Reply

    • Erika
      Sep 18, 2013 @ 09:01:48

      Thank you, that is very encouraging. I am glad that you liked my posts and enjoyed my makes.
      Have a fabulous day and thank you for reading.

      Reply

  11. Fashion bangles
    Sep 19, 2013 @ 19:42:12

    These are truly impressive ideas in regarding blogging.
    You have touched some nice things here. Any way keep up wrinting.

    Reply

  12. designersjewelryshop.com
    Sep 21, 2013 @ 06:52:54

    I absolutely love your blog.. Excellent colors & theme.
    Did you build this web site yourself? Please reply back as I’m attempting to create my own blog and would love to find out
    where you got this from or just what the theme is named.
    Thanks!

    Reply

    • Erika
      Sep 22, 2013 @ 15:09:45

      Thank you so much for your kind words. I am bowled over that anyone reads it, let alone appreciates it enough to comment, so thank you!

      I use WordPress and this is one of their themes that you can pick from as you build your blog. It is named ‘The Koi Theme’ If you start a blog with WordPress, it really guides you through what to do next and setting up the blog is very straightforward.

      I hope that helps. Let me know if I can help you any further.

      Have a lovely day!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

