The Make Over – The Hair & Make Up (oh and some nails)

I have really done it, gone full steam ahead and taken the plunge with my make over.

As you know I decided to make a change and not let illness stop me from being who I am.  After quite a few years of just thinking that because I am unwell this means I shouldn’t even bother about how I look, it’s all change.

IMG_0580

This is me before.  Hair tied back, no make up, looking so delightfully happy it’s hard not to smile!  My hair was dark brown to light blonde and to be honest I’ve never really been a fan.  I love dying my hair but decided when I got ill, it was just too much for me.  However, that’s not to say that on a good day I can’t dye my hair, with a little, (or maybe a lot) of help from my husband.

So I went from that to this…..

IMG_4930 IMG_4958

Fiery red.

That however, was only step one.  Step two was the style, followed by the make up!

DSCF2253

Whilst I don’t take the most flattering picture and this was the first time using my new make up and hair products, not to mention having never done this type of hair style before, I was over the moon with how I looked.

DSCF2263 DSCF2260

By this point I was attempting to hold back the hysterics while the photo’s were being taken, as I have never really posed for anything and am very concious of how I look, then my mum gets far too into the whole thing and says ‘The camera loves you, that’s it put your hand up just like that, yep that’s it.’  That was me gone and this was the result!  Great fun, even if I did feel like a trolley!

DSCF2257

For my hair I used some lovely products.  My shampoo was John Frieda Frizz-Ease Dream Curls, followed by John Frieda Frizz-Ease Dream Curls Conditioner and John Frieda Frizz-Ease Spiral Style Gel Spray.  The final two products were a heat protection spray, for whilst curling, called Infatreat Thermal Protector and then the fabulous L’oreal Paris Elnett Satin Hairspray.

DSCF2310

I know it’s not perfect and I still could do with a bit more practice, but I really love this hair style, colour and the products I used.

 

On to my make up!  Oh my word, the make up!  I invested in some rather beautiful items!

DSCF2313

 

Let me talk you through the wonderful products!!

 

DSCF2321 DSCF2322

 

Confessions of a Concealaholic by Benefit is an absolutely amazing set.  It comes in the most beautiful packaging and has a tremendously helpful instruction booklet, written as a diary, to those, like me, who are cosmetically challenged!  I had no problems using it, the make up itself was lush, so light and gave perfect almost invisible coverage.

DSCF2314

I was lucky enough to be picked by Bourjois on Twitter to receive a pre release tub, (and what a beautiful pot it is), of their 150th Anniversary reinterpretation of their legendary Java Rice Powder.  I could not be happier.  For a start you have the pot, you know by now I am a sucker for packaging and for vintage!  The powder is incredible!  It smells divine and when you brush it on your face looks just perfect, like a doll.  As soon as you take the top off it evokes Parisian chic!

DSCF2317 DSCF2318

 

Next I used Benefit’s World Famous Neutrals kit, Most Glamorous nudes.  Again, everything fro packaging to tips this gets top marks.  The pallet is perfect for the look I was going for.  The shadows blend seamlessly and, in my opinion look amazing!  Ishould also mention the little boxes are so sturdy and pretty, they can all be kept when the make up is gone (sad face) as trinket boxes!

I also used a mascara by Natio and eyeliner by Beautique.

DSCF2319 DSCF2320

 

For my cheeks I used The Feeling Dandy kit by Benefit.  Nothing more to say that hasn’t already been said, another fantastically easy and effective kit.

For my lips I used the LAQA & Co Lil Lip that I received with my August subscription to Birchbox.  If you would like to know more, then please have a read of this post, Beauty Box Subscriptions.

DSCF2267

 

 

 

 

My necklace and bracelet were made by my mum.  The necklace has red jasper and sunstone on copper and the bracelet is made from copper.

DSCF2299

 

The brooch was made by me using Swarovski crystals and fimo.  The earrings were a present from my amazingly beautiful friend Hidea, who sent them to me from her home, Tokyo!

 

DSCF2276 DSCF2288

 

Finally, my nails.  I used Christian Dior Palm tree 277 nail polish and painted the bow and polka dots freehand using a Rio Black and finished it off with a tiny square diamonte!

 

That’s it folks, the next stage is my dresses and handbags.  I hope you enjoyed this post and I would like to not only thank you for getting to the end here, but invite you to let me know what you think.

Have a great day!

Image

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Products That I Have Been Loving! | Beauty&Makeup
  2. chi flat iron reviews
    Sep 14, 2013 @ 15:42:39

    Hello, this weekend is pleasant for me, for the reason
    that this moment i am reading this fantastic informative piece of writing here at my residence.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

