Makes & Cakes

I am not feeling particularly well today so wont be able to cook as I had wanted to.  Instead I thought I would post some of my favourite makes in the spirit of sharing more about myself.

Everything here is made by me for someone special, family, friends and neighbours.

IMG_3322 IMG_3323

For my Dad and Mick’s (hubby) Christmas crackers last year I made them both cuff links.  Dad is a huge fan of Only Fools and Horses, so I did my best to make TIT Vans and Mick plays a lot of Call of Duty, hence the grenades.

They are made from Fimo clay and mounted on silver plated cuff link bases.

IMG_3391

My husband and I are huge Big Bang Theory fans and this is a card I made for him, again last year.  Hand drawn and using Pro Markers.

IMG_1972 IMG_1974

This was a card I made for my friend and neighbour, who just graduated from University.

IMG_2242 IMG_2681

A couple of cards to friends.

IMG_2831

I decided to have some fun one day and create a Lego version of my husband.  We both love Lego.  I used Fimo again to create his manly figure and hand painted it.

IMG_2847

I really liked making these pendants.  Very simple to do.  I used old dominoes and painted them with acrylics.  Once dry I used a rubber stamp and then painted using Sakura pens!  To secure the pendant to a necklace/string/cord I used a wooden bead and glued it to the top.

IMG_3462

My mum was really pleased with these stud earrings.  She is a keen knitter, so thought it would be fitting to make her a pair of wool balls and needles.

IMG_3632

For my mum again, I made this amethyst and Swarovski rosary, with 925, Stirling silver wire.  I made all of the links, think it took me such a long time, but the finished result was worth it.

When I have friends and family over, I like to try and cook something special for them.  It is all gluten free.

IMG_4628

Strawberries, filled with hand whipped cream, infused with vanilla and served with pomegranate seeds.

IMG_0159

 

My first attempt at a strawberry mouse.  Served with fresh strawberries, dipped in chocolate.  This was for valentines day.

 

IMG_1861

 

I am lemon obsessed, quite literally, I will eat them raw.  Here I made some lemon flavoured cupcakes, topped with lemon butter icing and little lemon flowers.  Also, I made chocolate cupcakes, which I covered with a clear mint flavoured glaze and topped with fresh mint leaves from my garden.

 

IMG_0651

I love making Lemon Curd!  It always makes the kitchen smell so delicious!  I try to make jars for people at Christmas.

IMG_0653

Lemon Meringue Pie Cupcakes.  The cupcake is a very soft, fluffy lightly flavoured lemon bun, a small hollow contains some of my lemon curd and then is topped with meringue.  These came about while I was trying to create a decent gluten free pastry, but really wanted a Lemon Meringue Pie.

IMG_0732

Miniature versions of the LMP cupcakes used as toppers on top of simple lemon iced cakes.

IMG_0051

My pie, when I worked out the best way to make Gluten Free Pastry.

IMG_0722

Marzipan sweets.  They are coated and dipped in various chocolates and powder.  Again present for people at that time of the year.

IMG_0743

Home made Turkish Delight.

IMG_0744

Gluten Free mince pies.  I made the mince meat the year before and left it to brew.  The pastry was too thin and crispy though.

IMG_0752

This is a table decoration I made for my mum.  It is a tree made from walnut and sherry cookies (gluten free and my own recipe).  They were a tad strong, I don’t drink sherry so had no idea what amount to use.

IMG_0757

This took me ages to make!  Even though it is a bit messy, this was something I wanted to make for my mum.  Mum is a Coeliac as well and it was our first ‘Gluten Free’ Christmas, everything at my parents house for Christmas day was to be suitable for us.  I wanted to help as much as I could, since the fuss was being made for me, as I had just been diagnosed.

This is my Profiterole Bauble.  The profiteroles are filled with hand whipped vanilla infused cream and stuck together with chocolate.  The centre is hollow.  This was so hard to do, a little too advanced for me, but I was proud of the result.

Those are some of my favourite makes and cakes.  I hope the post was interesting and with a bit of luck normal service can resume tomorrow!

Thanks for reading and have a fabulous day!

Image

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laura Caraher (@LCaraher)
    Sep 09, 2013 @ 11:33:21

    Yummmmmmm those cakes look amazing, I must give your marzipan treats a go as I love marzipan 🙂

    Reply

    • Erika
      Sep 09, 2013 @ 11:34:52

      Thank you!

      They are really simple, just chop a block of marzipan up and then cover with whatever you’d like. So many variations you can do.

      Thanks for reading! x

      Reply

  2. Trackback: Day 29 – A recipe you want to try out | Rhiannon's Bakes
  3. Caroline Taylor
    Sep 09, 2013 @ 22:16:02

    WOW!! You are a very talented and creative girl, I wish I had an ounce of your creativity.

    Reply

    • Erika
      Sep 10, 2013 @ 05:52:25

      Thank you, that is very kind of you to say!

      You don’t see the mistakes and disasters though.

      I bet there is plenty of creativity in you 🙂

      Thank you for reading!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

