The Make Over – My First Outing!

The time finally came where I had to plunge straight into the unknown and brave the world around me with my new look.  No practising indoors and trying to perfect the techniques and know how, no shying away from the courage needed to put one foot in front of the other and actually leave the house as the new me.  There was no escaping it, the time had come!

Honestly, I was terrified and nervous.  I’m not the most experienced when it comes to beauty and fashion, but hopefully I make up for that with eagerness and enthusiasm.

First my hair and make up.  I attempted a long locked Dita von Teese inspired down do.  Big waves and a little pin back, with lots of bounce.  I was pleased with how it came out.  For my make up I used my faithful Benefit Cosmetics and was still astonished, as I am every time I use them, at how lovely and effective they are.  My lipstick is by Guerlain and an absolute delight to wear.   My eye liner was a total surprise to me.  I will talk more about it when I post regarding my Beauty Box subscriptions this month, as it was in one of those.  I loved it!! Be a Bombshell in Onyx.  It has to be the best eye liner I have ever used.  All will be revealed later this week!

kaiser5.jpg kaiser4.jpg kaiser3.jpg kaiser2.jpg

I have to confess that I attempted to use my false eyelashes, but after spending half an hour trying to just get one to stick on straight, I admitted defeat and thought I would leave them for another day when I was less stressed.

I was really quite pleased with the hair style and my make up, but feel maybe I would have felt better about the look if my nerves were not anywhere near as on edge as they were.  As I said, the hair was inspired, not a copy.

The little brooch that you can see in the shape of a strawberry is very close to my heart, (I don’t mean in location).  It belonged to my dear Aunty Barbara who passed away when I was eighteen, she left it too me and I thought it would be just right with this dress!

First up is my lovely coat from Marks & Spencer.  The Notch Lapel Tipped Belted Mac in black is very comfortable and fits nicely. It suits the vintage look and compliments the dress style.

kaiser1.jpg

I am just not very good at taking a serious picture, so apologies for this one!  I always feel like a bit of a plank posing for pictures.

image (31)

My shoes are by Viva La Diva and unfortunately I can’t tell you much more about them as they were a gift.  They have a small heel and are leather.  Very comfortable and looked lovely paired with my dress!

The dress!  By Hell Bunny and called Evie, this black and red polka dot, 1950’s inspired Rockabilly fit and flare dress, is beautiful!!  I ordered it from Sirens and Starlets online who were fabulous!  Fast delivery and everything I ordered was stunning! They cater for all sizes and have some of the most beautiful vintage inspired dresses I have come across.

kaiser7.jpg

The dress is just beautiful! The fabric is of an extremely high quality and sits perfect with my figure.  I love the detailing on the collar and sleeves, it really finishes the dress off.  Every time I look at it I see Minnie Mouse!  I love it and who wouldn’t at only £44.99?

My tights were also from M&S, but I can’t remember how much they were and sadly they are now out of stock on their site.  They were Limited Collection Spot Sheer Tights and just the ticket to go with Evie!

kaiser6.jpg kaiser11.jpg kaiser10.jpg

For my nails I used a bright letterbox red from my nail box and Shatter by OPI over the top!  I was really pleased with the result and will definitely be getting more OPI colours in the future!

Then we come to my bag! Oh the bag! I really feel I ought to dedicate an entire post to Martini, from Jump From Paper.  So I will just say that the bag is fabulous and truly amazing!

bag1

I was wearing a set of ivory pearls that were handed down to me by my mum and are strung with gold findings.  They are really delicate and exquisite.  I adore pearls as they are so classic and sophisticated, I felt they finished the whole outfit off nicely.

Thank you again for reading my latest post, I hope that you have enjoyed it!

Have a great day!

Image

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Caroline Taylor
    Sep 18, 2013 @ 19:04:10

    I don’t know why you were so nervous, you look fantastic, all the pieces and the hair and make-up go together so well, I must admit my eyes are drawn to that wonderful bag, its so cute!

    Reply

  2. Erika
    Sep 18, 2013 @ 19:30:08

    Thank you, you’ve made me blush! Really thank you so much!
    The bag is brilliant! I need to do a few more pictures of it in good light and then will dedicate an entire post to it! I absolutely adore it!

    Thank you for taking the time to read my post, it is really appreciated, but even more for the lovely comments!

    Reply

  3. Leah Shafik
    Sep 19, 2013 @ 14:23:42

    I finally found where to comment, my fault for not realising it was at the side, not underneath!

    Just wanted to say how gorgeous you look in that outfit! Truly! That style really suits you and the shoes! The SHOES! They are beaut! x

    Reply

    • Erika
      Sep 19, 2013 @ 14:40:49

      Glad you found it, thought for a horrible minute that something was up with the blog.

      Oh thank you so much Leah!! That is so lovely of you to say and tremendously kind.

      Thank you! I love the shoes too, my Mum got them for me.

      Thanks again Leah! x

      Reply

  4. Becky
    Sep 19, 2013 @ 16:03:50

    You look great! Your hair looks especially nice 🙂 xx

    Reply

  5. Vanessa
    Sep 19, 2013 @ 21:40:37

    Wonderful post…I like your blog.^^
    Maybe follow each other on bloglovin?
    Let me know follow you then back.
    Lovely greets Nessa

    Reply

    • Erika
      Sep 20, 2013 @ 07:04:45

      Thank you so much for your lovely comments and for having a read of my blog. I’m so pleased that you like it!

      I have followed you on bloglovin 🙂

      Have a wonderful day!

      Reply

  6. afroditi
    Sep 20, 2013 @ 15:46:46

    Beautiful post!Your blog is lovely!!!! Would you like to follow each other on bloglovin’ ? xxx
    Gleaming Spire // Bloglovin’

    Reply

    • Erika
      Sep 22, 2013 @ 15:11:34

      Wow, that is extremely kind of you to say, thank you!

      I would love to follow you, I am really interested in finding other blogs and meeting new people!

      I just had a look at your blog and it is lovely! Consider it followed by me 🙂

      Have a lovely day and hope to chat to you more in the future! xx

      Reply

  7. Vanessa
    Sep 20, 2013 @ 22:43:21

    Thank you so much for the follow.
    Follow you back on bloglovin.
    Lovely greets from germany 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

